Everything to Know About Monday Night's CFDA Awards

The Oscars of Fashion was held Monday night at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City, and with it brought shock, excitement, and some unforgettable fashion moments.

The CFDA was founded in 1962 and it's membership consists of more than 500 of America's greatest womenswear, menswear, accessories, and jewelry designers.  This not-for-profit trade association was created to raise funds for charity and industry activities.  The Council of the Fashion Designers of America rules the fashion industry.  It's mission is to strengthen the impact of American designers and the global economy.  It has taken a leadership role in sustainability efforts in clothing and manufacturing.  The CFDA is the official organizer of NYFW and the entire fashion calendar.  The CFDA aims to maximize the impact of American fashion.  The Awards are an invite-only network made up of members of the CFDA, top fashion retailers, journalists, stylists and influencers.  Board Chairman, Diane Von Furstenberg, got her start in the American fashion industry in the early '70's with two suitcases full of her soon to be iconic jersey wrap dresses.  Members of the CFDA Board and Committee contain notable designers such as Michael Kors, Vera Wang, Ashley Olsen, Tory Burch, Jenna Lyons, and Carolina Herrera to name a few. 

The first CFDA Awards were held in 1982 and recognize the outstanding contributions made to American fashion in womenswear, menswear, and accessories as well as journalism, creative vision, personal style, and lifetime achievement.  Let's take a look at some of the winners, and notable nominees for the highest honor the fashion world has to offer.

 For the second time in history, there is the same winner for both womenswear and menswear categories.  Belgium-born designer, Raf Simmons, can take some credit for the resurgence in popularity of American brand Calvin Klein.  Today, this brand is on the top of everyones list.  The only other person in history to win both these awards in the same year was Calvin Klein himself in 1993.  For Menswear, Simmons was up against Thom Browne, Robert Gellar, Tim Coppens, and Todd Snyder.  While in womenswear, Joseph Altuzarra, Marc Jacobs, Jack Mccullough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row came in a close second.

Let's take a look at some of Simmons' notable looks from the past year.

Stuart Vevers for Coach fully earned his CFDA award, being partially credited for Coach's drastic turnaround.  Fevers came out on top after facing some stiff competition from Irene Neuwirth, Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel, Paul Andrew, and Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen from The Row.  Coach has seen a big returns after the New York label's rebrand.  Here are some of the best looks from Vevers over the past year.

The Swarovski Award for emerging talent was awarded to Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia from Monse.  Other notable nominees include Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection, Gabriella Hearst, Virgil Abloh for Off White, and Sander Lak for Sies Marjan.  Here are some notable moments from the Monse Lookbook.

Other Winners From the Night

Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Kenneth Cole

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Rick Owens

Founders Award: Pat McGrath

International Award: Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga

Fashion Icon Award: Franca Sozzani

Board of Directors' Tribute: Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem and Janelle Monae


Let's not forget to take a look at some of the best dressed of the night...

Lily Aldridge in Jason Wu

Zanna Roberts Rossi in Partow

Zhenya Katava wearing Nicole Miller with Nicole Miller

Martha Hunt in Milly

Jaimie Alexander in Marc Bouwer

Gigi Hadid in The Row

Kate Bosworth in Brock Collection

Bella Hadid in Off White

Hailey Baldwin in Brother Vellies and Cushnie et Ochs

Erin Foster in Markarian NYC with Sarah Flint

Priyanka Chopra in Michael Kors with Michael Kors

Naeem Kahn and Josephine Skriver in Naeem Kahn

Amber Valletta in Oscar de la Renta



Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published